Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences (BAgricSci)

Program Code


Academic Year


Program Faculty

Faculty of Sciences

Special Notes

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (


This program will provide students with skills and knowledge in the physical, biological, technological and economic bases of modern agricultural systems and is designed to demonstrate how scientific and economic principles are applied to manage agricultural systems and the natural resources on which these systems depend. The first year develops basic skills in chemistry, biology and statistics as well as offering core courses in soils and agriculture. In the second and third years students enrol in courses in crop science, livestock science, soil science and agribusiness. Some specialisation is possible in the third year. Field trips and excursions are incorporated into the first and third year programs to expose students to best practice in industry. Practical skills are developed through a professional internship during the second half of the program. While the majority of the degree is based at the Waite campus, education in livestock production and the practical component of agronomy is based at the Roseworthy campus.
This program requires a total of twelve weeks (approximately 450 hours) of professional work experience and this should be undertaken during the University vacations and completed by the start of Semester 2 of the third year of the program. Students with relevant professional experience may be exempted.

The Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences is an AQF Level 7 program with a standard full-time duration of 3 years.

Academic Program Rules for Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences

There shall be a Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences.

Qualification Requirements
Academic Program: 

To qualify for the degree of Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences, the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 72 units, comprising:

  1. Core courses to the value of 60 units
  2. Elective courses to the value of 12 units
  3. Work based training / extra mural studies