Bachelor of Computer Science (BCompSc)

Program Code

Program Faculty
Faculty of Sciences, Engineering and Technology

Academic Year

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (


The Bachelor of Computer Science caters for people with specific interests in computer science and / or information technology. It has a core of compulsory computer science courses and a wide range of elective choices according to their interests and strengths, including the selection of mathematics, commerce, economics, engineering, finance, arts, and sciences. In the third year students have the opportunity to choose at least one area of computer science to specialise in, which involves developing an in-depth understanding of the field. Graduates should be highly skilled in the design of computer-based solutions to the problems of information management and processing in industry, commerce, science, entertainment, and the public sector.
The Bachelor of Computer Science is an AQF Level 7 qualification with a standard full-time duration of 3 years.


Condition of enrolment
Interruption of program: Students must apply for permission from the Executive Dean or delegate before taking a Leave of Absence. Any extension of the leave without approval will result in the loss of place in the program but an application may be made to be re-admitted to the program subject to the admission procedures in place at the time.

Academic Program Rules for Bachelor of Computer Science

There shall be a Bachelor of Computer Science.

Qualification Requirements

To qualify for the degree of Bachelor of Computer Science, the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 72 units comprising:

  1. Level I courses to the value of at most 30 units
  2. Level II courses to the value of at least 18 units including Computer Science courses to the value of at least 12 units
  3. Level III courses to the value of at least 24 units including Computer Science courses to the value of at least 18 units.
  4. One Major chosen from the following:
    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Computer Science
    • Cybersecurity
    • Data Science
    • Distributed Systems and Networking

Core Courses