Bachelor of Science (Animal Science) (BSc(AnimalSc))

Program Code

Program Faculty
Faculty of Sciences, Engineering and Technology

Academic Year

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (


This program offers a broad range of animal science courses that cover wildlife, livestock, companion and laboratory animal species. The program has a strong emphasis on the practical skills utilised in the area of animal science. In the first year level, students undertake foundation science courses which form the background for later studies in areas such as animal physiology, nutrition, breeding and management. Level I involves studies at both North Terrace and Roseworthy campuses, while the core elements of the rest of the program will be based at the Roseworthy campus. This program will require completion of at least 200 hours of professional work experience to be completed by mid-semester break of Semester 2 of the third year of the program. 

The Bachelor of Science (Animal Science) is an AQF Level 7 program with a standard full-time duration of 3 years.


Q Fever Vaccinations:  Students in the Bachelor of Science (Animal Science) are required to be vaccinated against Q Fever (unless initial skin test indicates pre-existing immunity).

Condition of Continuing Enrolment

Interruption of program: Students must apply for permission from the Executive Dean or delegate before taking a Leave of Absence. Any extension of the leave without approval will result in the loss of place in the program but an application may be made to be re-admitted to the program subject to the admission procedures in place at the time.

Academic Program Rules for Bachelor of Science (Animal Science)

There shall be a Bachelor of Science (Animal Science).

Qualification Requirements

To qualify for the degree of Bachelor of Science (Animal Science), the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 72 units, comprising:

  1. Core courses to the value of 54 units.
  2. Elective courses to the value of 18 units.
  3. Work based training/extra mural studies.

Core Courses