Diploma in Arts (Specialisation) (DipA(Specialisation))

Program Code

Program Faculty
Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics

Academic Year

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (https://www.adelaide.edu.au/policies).


The Diploma in Arts consists of studies in a single major over three years and is available to all domestic students who are enrolled in any undergraduate, postgraduate or combined degree of the University of Adelaide, or another recognised tertiary institution, to concurrently undertake a major from the Faculty and graduate with both that degree and a Diploma in Arts. It is also available to Australian citizens, New Zealand citizens or permanent Australian visa holders, who have been awarded an undergraduate degree from a recognised tertiary institution.

The Diploma in Arts is an AQF Level 5 qualification with a standard full-time duration of 1 year.


Condition of enrolment
Interruption of program: Students must apply for permission from the Executive Dean or delegate before taking a Leave of Absence. Any extension of the leave without approval will result in the loss of place in the program but an application may be made to be re-admitted to the program subject to the admission procedures in place at the time.

Academic Program Rules for Diploma in Arts (Specialisation)

There shall be a Diploma in Arts (Specialisation).

Qualification Requirements

To qualify for the Diploma in Arts (Specialisation), the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 24 units, comprising:
One major to the value of 24 units from the following:

  • Anthropology
  • Art History and Visual Culture
  • Classics
  • Creative Writing
  • Criminology
  • Cultural Studies
  • Digital Humanities
  • Education
  • English
  • Film Studies
  • Gender Studies
  • Geography, Environment and Population
  • History
  • Indigenous Knowledges and Society
  • International Development
  • Liberal Arts 
  • Linguistics
  • Media
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Politics & International Relations
  • Sociology
  1. Level I courses to the value of at least 3 units, and not more than 6 units.
  2. Level II courses to the value of at least 3 units or
  3. If studying a Major in Criminology or Sociology, 9 units of Level II courses in Lieu of (2)
  4. Level III courses to the value of at least 12 units or
  5. If studying a Major in Criminology or Sociology, 9 units of Level III courses in Lieu of (4)
  6. At least 3 units must be completed at Level I before undertaking courses at Level II.
  7. At least 3 units must be completed at Level II before undertaking courses at Level III.
  8. At least 15 units must be completed before undertaking the capstone.