Bachelor of Science (Honours) (BSc(Hons))

Program Code

Program Faculty
Faculty of Sciences, Engineering and Technology

Academic Year

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (


This one year program provides an opportunity for students to extend their knowledge and skills through either a Research or Professional pathway. The Research pathway consists of a research project and associated theoretical work and provides professional training and an opportunity to experience scientific research in a chosen area of specialisation.  The Professional pathway consists of a project that is more applied in nature than those in the Research pathway and may provide the opportunity to work with industry on an applied discipline project or in areas such as science communication, science education, science innovation, science policy and project management. 

Students can pursue Research or Professional pathways in one of the following areas of science: Agricultural Science, Animal Behaviour, Animal Science, Chemistry, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Energy Geoscience, Environmental Geoscience, Geology, Geophysics, Molecular and Biomedical Science, Physics, Plant Science, Soil Science and Wine Science.

The Bachelor of Science (Honours) is an AQF Level 8 qualification with a standard full-time duration of 1 year.


Interruption of program: Students must apply for permission from the Executive Dean or delegate before taking a Leave of Absence. Any extension of the leave without approval will result in the loss of place in the program but an application may be made to be re-admitted to the program subject to the admission procedures in place at the time.

Academic Program Rules for Bachelor of Science (Honours)

There shall be a Bachelor of Science (Honours).

Qualification Requirements

To qualify for the degree of Bachelor of Science (Honours) the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 24 units, comprising:

  1. One Research Pathway or Professional Pathway to the value of 24 units chosen from the following:
Research pathway:
  • Agricultural Science
  • Animal Behaviour
  • Animal Science
  • Chemistry
  • Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Energy Geoscience
  • Environmental Geoscience
  • Geology
  • Geophysics
  • Molecular and Biomedical Science
  • Physics
  • Plant Science
  • Soil Science
  • Wine Science
Professional pathway:
  • Professional Honours