Executive Master of Business Administration (ExecMBA)

Program Code


Academic Year


Special Notes

These Program Rules should be read in conjunction with the University's policies (http://www.adelaide.edu.au/policies).


The Executive Master of Business Administration explores critical aspects of business activity, preparing students for executive level management. Students will integrate theory and practice, developing a wide range of technical literacy to inform evidence-based decision-making. The program will help to instil a globally aware and people- oriented mindset, aiding students in the assessment and development of their own leadership skills and capabilities. The program facilitates the advancement of social capital and fosters a detailed understanding of how to utilise innovation in the creation of sustainable business practices.

The Executive Master of Business Administration is an AQF Level 9 qualification with a standard full-time duration of 1.5 years.

Program Learning Outcome
1. Analyse critically the multi-faceted nature of an organisation and its industry.
2. Utilise a globally aware, evidence-based and people-orientated leadership mindset.
3. Create professional relationships, building social capital to enhance decision making.
4. Evaluate and incorporate innovation practices to develop sustainable organisational capabilities.

Program Maximum Duration: As specified in Table 1 of the Coursework Academic Programs Policy, this program must be completed within a Maximum Duration which includes any periods of non-enrolment, leave of absence or approved study at other institutions for credit towards a Program.

Academic Program Rules for Executive Master of Business Administration

There shall be a Executive Master of Business Administration.

Qualification Requirements
Academic Program: 

To qualify for the degree of Executive Master of Business Administration, the student must complete satisfactorily a program of study consisting of the following requirements with a combined total of not less than 36 units, comprising:

  1. Core courses to the value of 24 units
  2. Research courses to the value of 3 units
  3. Elective courses to the value of 9 units